Stop Instagram Saving to Camera Roll


I am sure you must be aware by now if you have used Instagram for any length of time that any picture that you upload to Instagram especially after adding filters gets saved to your Camera Roll or Gallery.

This is by default and can eat up a lot of storage. Today I will show you How to Stop Instagram Saving to Camera Roll.

This is one of those settings that Instagram simply thinks you want to have on by default and I will show you how to turn it off.

Why Turn it Off?

As mentioned when you upload anything a second version is saved by Instagram to your Camera Roll. This means that you will have the original which is a given a second version of the Photo you uploaded.

If you are short on space or storage is tight you will find that what little space you have will be sued up quickly. The feature is safe to turn off and you will loose nothing, in fact there is more to gain that you loose.

Devices this Guide will Apply to:

This guide applies to the iPhone or other IOS devices and Android devices as well. The procedure is the same across the board.

If a Video Tutorial is more your style:

Check out what to do here in this video I created just for this article. It breaks down and shows everything one step at time.

Comments and feedback are always welcomed on the video as well.

How to Turn Off Instagram Save to Camera Roll?

To Stop Instagram saving edited photos or Photos uploading being saved to your Gallery or Camera roll

1.Launch Instagram, go straight to your profile.

2.Click the three lines upper right and select settings.

3.Under settings go to Account and then choose:Original Photos

Stop Instagram Saving to Camera Roll

4.Now turn off everything under this setting. In case you need more details below is a breakdown of each setting to explain what they do.You can even choose what to turn off based on the info.

Meaning of Each Setting:

Here is what each means. (You may have more setting on Android or less in IOS so if you don’t see a setting don’t worry)

Save Original Post (Disable This If)

Any picture or video created withing the Instagram App or captured and saved from the Instagram Built in Camera for upload will be saved to your Camera roll. This includes or goes mainly for your Stories.

Save Posted Photos (disable if)

Stop Instagram from saving a second copy of any picture you upload to your profile especially those you add filters to. This is one of the main features to turn off.

Save Posted Videos (Disable if)

Stops Instagram from Saving a copy of videos you upload to your profile to your Camera roll especially after editing and adding filters. This is the second main option to turn off.

One Last thing

Let me know if your problem was solved or you got what you came here to solve. If so please use the comments to communicate and please take some time and check out some more of my content. A share or two would also be appreciated.


About Ricardo Gardener

I am a Technology enthusiast and a Blogger who loves nothing more than playing with new exciting Gadgets and technology. In my spare time I repair and maintain computers, which is just a few of my many hobbies. Please feel free to leave a comment below and subscribe to this blog. Thank you very much for your visit.

:) How well did I do? Take a moment to leave a comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.